The Crotchet’s Corner

My perspective about all things inconsequential

Smile … it costs nothing

I was busy, in the middle of something important, when the doorbell rang. “Who can that be?” I wondered while walking, grumbling, to the door, “Why does someone have to ring the bell NOW, just when I am so involved in something?”

 

The resentment within was evident from the scowl on my face as I turned the key. Standing there, with a smile on his face, was the neighbourhood grocer’s delivery boy, bearing a bag full of stuff that had been ordered.

 

Having paid him off, and returning to the PC, I found that my mind had switched off from what I had been doing earlier. Try as hard as I might, the focus was gone, the concentration had vanished.

 

Instead, there was another train of thought that shrieked though my mind.

 

This grocer’s boy, one of many kids from an impoverished household in India, had a hard day’s schedule, going from house to house delivering stuff to people of all types and moods (including grumpy guys like me). Come rain or shine, day or night, holiday or otherwise, he was at work by 6 in the morning, and closed late at night. Yet, despite this, he had a smile on his face.

 

Got me thinking about how we condition our minds, and look at others with tinted (or should I say tainted?) glasses.

 

We have this supreme feeling of self-importance. We are all that matters. We do not pause to think about how others feel, how they live, how they think, their own problems, insecurities, concerns, joys, disappointments, sorrows.

 

All that we think about is “I” and “me”.

 

And, I felt wretched about having opened the door with that scowl. Did that poor kid know that I was busy with something “important”? No, he didn’t. If I was busy, it was MY problem, not his. So, what right did I have to greet him with an unpleasant expression on my face?

 

It was wrong.

 

Looked at differently, this kid was not bothered about my mood or what I was doing. He was concerned about making sure that he delivered what we had ordered, faithfully and promptly. By taking out my irritation on him, I was actually displaying myself in poor light.

 

I was the loser, not he.

 

This incident made me think. And, made me determined to smile warmly at the kid the next time.

March 7, 2009 - Posted by | About this and that |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

