The Crotchet’s Corner

My perspective about all things inconsequential

Flying fish …

While on a business trip to Iceland to inspect fish that the company I worked for had ordered, I flew on a scheduled Flugleiðir commercial flight to a small town in the north of the country.

The fish producer whom I met spoke very little English, while I spoke no Icelandic except for “Góðan daginn” (good morning), “Blessaður” (hello), “Takk fyrir” (thank you very much), “Já” (yes), “Nei” (no), and “Bless” (goodbye).

Our conversation turned to aviation in that part of the world, and when he learnt that I was an enthusiast, he asked me if I would like to see the countryside from his small aircraft. So casual, just like going on a drive in a car, perhaps? I readily agreed, and we drove to the airstrip where his Cessna two-seater was parked.

After a brief chat with Air Traffic Control, he started the engine, headed for the runway and took off, just as if one was driving a car out of a garage.

Flying at 5,000 feet above the lovely countryside, he offered to show me his summer cottage that nestled in the nearby mountains (ATC came on the radio to warn him that he was flying too close to the mountains).

Heading back, he then said that he would show me his factory from the air, which seemed like a reasonable enough offer.

Imagine my horror, however, when he dipped the nose of the aircraft and dove down to a height of about 1,000 feet just above his fish processing factory, pulled out of the dive and climbed steeply? 

I love flying, and have flown in small aircraft before, but my heart was in my mouth then. As for the pilot, he seemed to be enjoying watching my discomfiture.

His employees were probably used to this kind of stunt – the boss dropping in to have a look, as it were.

There was silence for the next ten minutes as he made his final approach to the runway, landed, and taxied to a stop.

There didn’t seem to be much to say except “Takk fyrir” and “Bless”, and I headed gratefully towards the airport building to catch my flight back to Reykjavik.

I had a window seat, but, for the next forty five minutes, did not look out.

 

September 12, 2011 - Posted by | About this and that, Aviation | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

