The Crotchet’s Corner

My perspective about all things inconsequential

Vacuum between the ears

It is strange how the colour of one’s skin evokes irrational and, sometimes, idiotic responses. Brings out the worst in some people.

It was an early morning flight out of Charles de Gaulle airport in Paris, and the kids were sleepy. It had been a hectic, but enjoyable, four days at Euro Disney, and all one could now think of was settling into the aircraft seat and have a long nap on the eight-hour flight back.

We were booked on business class, and as I wheeled the luggage trolley towards the check-in counter, a stern looking member of the Air France staff jerked her thumb dismissively towards another counter and rudely said “Economy is that side.”

“Isn’t this the Business Class counter?” I asked.

“Yes, go to the Economy counter”, she replied, with a superior manner and a voice that dripped with irritation.

I could feel the anger welling inside me but chose to keep my composure. “Would you mind having a look at my ticket?” I asked in as measured a tone as possible.

It evoked no response since the lady had turned away and was pretending to be busy with something important.

“This does it,” I thought to myself, “these rude guys are going to get an earful from me.”

A supervisor happened to observe the exchange and came forward to ask what the matter was. I told him that I was here to check-in and showed him the tickets. To his credit, he completed the formalities. There was, however, no apology, no friendliness.

As we left the counter to head for the departure area, I told him that he and his colleague were the most impolite airline staff I had ever encountered in all my travels, and that they were an utter disgrace not only to their airline but also to the entire industry. I also told him that they were not doing anyone any favours since it was the paying passenger, irrespective of class of travel, that ultimately provided these staff with a livelihood.

He didn’t like my comment, but I couldn’t care less.

It is evident that some people have vacuum between the ears.

To the airline’s credit, the service on board was better.

 

September 17, 2011 - Posted by | About this and that, Aviation, Human Behavior | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

